Linux Thing Here

Linux For All of You

What is Kernel Linux Anyway?

As a faithful Linux users for sure we all know the term kernel. The first time I know Ubuntu (Linux). My senior explained that it was part of the Ubuntu Linux that work on the kernel. At that time I wondered “What is Kernel?”. Because I was very curious, I also began to search for the kernel itself.

The definition of the kernel is a software which is a main part of the operating system. I assume that the kernel is equal to Karangka from Mobil. Of course, my definition is still not satisfactory. I find myself wondering “What the Kernel Task?”.

  1. Kernel duty to serve a variety of application programs to access securely Computer Hardware.
  2. In addition, a bridge between the hardware kernel and application-language translation software applications that can be understood and processed by the hardware in accordance with the request.
  3. Regulate when and how long a program can use one part of the hardware. This is called as multiplexing.

Linux Kernel has 2 types:

1. Monolithic kernel

Linux kernel with this type enables all hardware drivers or system features are compiled directly into kernel or integrated (built-in) into a unified whole as a linux operating system
The advantage of this kernel type is as follows:
  • The interaction or communication hardware with faster system.
  • In terms of the relatively more secure security system

2. Modular Kernel

Linux kernel allows drivers with this type of hardware or system features compiled as modules and stored in the / lib / modules / kernel-xx-version (note: word-kernel-xx version is replaced with the kernel version number is used)
The advantage of this kernel types are:

  • Kernel become more flexible, you can load the module into the kernel as you need it.
  • The replacement of hardware is easier because it is modular where you can include all the hardware driver as a module by simply probing a module (using the commands insmod or modprobe)
As a faithful Linux users for sure we all know the term kernel. The first time I know Ubuntu (Linux). My senior explained that it was part of the Ubuntu Linux that work on the kernel. At that time I wondered “What is Kernel?”. Because I was very curious, I also began to search for the kernel itself.

The definition of the kernel is a software which is a main part of the operating system. I assume that the kernel is equal to Karangka from Mobil. Of course, my definition is still not satisfactory. I find myself wondering “What the Kernel Task?”.

Leave a Reply

